Annual Board Meeting: Five Welcome Additions!

BOARD MEMBERS: Gathered at the Annual Board Meeting at the ILT campus are; rear, L to R - Dennis Bielfeldt, Kip Tyler, Fred Schickedanz, John Miller, and Douglas Bahr. Front - Ed Skutshek, John Stiegelmeier, Dorothy McNaught, and Becky Hand

Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.

-Psalm 127:1

The Institute of Lutheran Theology (ILT) was called into existence to meet a pressing need, and we remain committed to our original God-given mission. To remain steadfast whenever someone is replaced, we must recruit new personnel of the same character and vision as much as possible. Nowhere is this as plain as with a board where there are fixed terms. We are happy that we were able to do this recently. We have five new people who are not only gifted and successful in their careers, they also have been part of our mission for a long period.

Our Board of Directors met from Thursday evening, September 26 to noon on Saturday, September 28, 2019. Five new board members were elected to serve on the board. The new members include Rev. Becky Hand, TX; Dr. Douglas Bahr, TX; Rev. Kip Tyler, NE; Dr. John Miller, SD; and Mrs. Dorothy McNaught, IA. The Executive Committee of the board is Rev. Kip Tyler, Chair; Dr. Phil Wold, Vice-Chair; Rev. Becky Hand, Secretary; and Mr. Fred Schickedanz, Treasurer. Thank you to all those who serve on the board and for the prayer and guidance that you give.

While there were many discussions and planning concerning ILT and its future, there were two main items on the agenda for the board to address. The first was the appointment of Rev. Dr. Thomas Jacobson to the Certificate Faculty Senate as Instructor of Christian History. The other necessity was the adoption of new grievance policy and procedures. Polices were updated and included a procedure to protect the students, faculty, and staff if a formal grievance were to be submitted.

Why five new board members this year? It was necessary for a couple of reasons. Two board members finished serving the maximum two four-year terms, Mrs. Debbie Hesse and Rev. Dr. Fred Baltz. Thank you, Fred and Debbie! Another board member was required to step down because of family circumstances. ILT bylaws require that the board have 9-15 members. The board had nine members last year and nominated four new members to serve in the coming year. This would have given the board 11 members. With the termed-out members and a board member stepping down, an additional nomination was given to finish the term of the outgoing member.

ILT Board of Directors

Rev. Kip Tyler, Chair

Dr. Phil Wold, Vice Chair

Rev. Becky Hand, Secretary

Mr. Fred Schickedanz, Treasure

Dr. Dennis Bielfeldt, President

Rev. John Bent

Rev. Ed Skutshek

Mr. John Stiegelmeier

Dr. John Miller

Mrs. Dorothy McNaught

Dr. Douglas Bahr

ILT News Letter Sign Up

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
NC-SARA Approved Institution logo round.

Institute of Lutheran Theology • Copyright © 2021 • All Rights Reserved 

(605) 692-9337 • 910 4th Street, PO Box 833, Brookings, SD 57006-2173 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon