Annual Board Meeting 2018

The ILT Board of Directors held its annual meeting on September 19th through the 21st. Members of the Board Executive Committee were elected. The Board also received reports from the Dean of Academic Affairs, the Dean of Educational Ministry, the Director of Donor Services, and the Comptroller. Mr. Fred Schickedanz returned for a new term and Mr. Tom Hill joined the Board.

Board Members include

  • Fred Baltz (Board Chair)

  • Phil Wold (Board Vice-Chair)

  • Fred Schickedanz (Treasurer)

  • Debra Hesse (Secretary)

  • Ed Skutshek

  • John Stiegelmeier

  • Tom Hill

  • John Bent

  • Janine Rew-Werling

As ILT continues to grow there are many issues to be addressed. The Board worked together to refine policy issues, future growth of the school, succession and staffing issues, and many other topics related to strategic planning. ILT has added a Master of Military Chaplaincy and is hoping to be able to offer the Ph.D. next year. The Board received the news that the SALT seminary in Madagascar desires to cooperate with ILT and passed a motion supporting an exploration of projects of mutual benefit. All four of President Bielfeldt’s trajectories laid out in his President’s Convocation at the end of August were discussed. The Board wants to move ahead on the first three and study the fourth. These new programs bring with them a host of policy and staffing issues. This strong and diverse Board is up to the task and is preparing for the future of ILT.

ILT News Letter Sign Up

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
NC-SARA Approved Institution logo round.

Institute of Lutheran Theology • Copyright © 2021 • All Rights Reserved 

(605) 692-9337 • 910 4th Street, PO Box 833, Brookings, SD 57006-2173 

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon